TBR

I have a huge TBR stack… embarrassingly so. New Years sorta-kinda resolution is to read these books. Here’s my start:

WATER FOR ELEPHANTS, Sara Gruen. Fast read, structured like Stephen King’s THE GREEN MILE, but upbeat. The author used real photos from circuses to guide her chapters.

ASHLEY BELL, Dean Koontz. *sigh* Plus, don’t put antibiotics on new tattoos.

CALENDRICAL REGRESSION, Lawrence Schoen. I read half of this a while back and then lost the book. I refound it and reread it and yep, it’s fun, whimsical, and serious all at the same time, and its ‘aliens explaining the Mayan Calendar’ conceit is the best explanation that I’ve read yet.

THE LADY & THE UNICORN, Tracy Chevalier. This author also wrote THE GIRL WITH THE PEARL EARRING, which I loved as well. Historical romance regarding the people who made the art and the craft the the unicorn tapestries, with a footnote about what became of the tapestries.

THE BAZAAR OF BAD DREAMS, Stephen King. Short fiction done up literary style. Most of these I’ve read in other venues (except the peculiar fireworks novella) and they’re okay, I guess. I have certain objections to official literary style (it seems to me that these types of stories are insufficiently thought-out plots where the author hasn’t figured out why he’s writing that story) but King, of course, still can write.

I’m currently within a few pages of the end of THE BURIED GIANT, by Kazuo Ishiguro, which is dense literary story telling about knights, dragons, and love. I’m liking it.

I have also been keeping up with Daily Science Fiction and Every Day Fiction and hope to post weekly overviews. I’m not reviewing these, btw, these are my surface thoughts.

Leave a Reply

